Somebody that I used to know in Mexico

English: Eucalyptus tereticornis (flower buds)...

 Eucalyptus tereticornis (flower buds). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My classmate and I sat in the gordita shop on the break. I had a gordita doble queso with salsa, barbecued onion and lime juice, dripping all over my fingers and the plastic sheet covering the plate—common, so they don’t have to wash.

On the television the video clip of Gotye’s Somebody that I used to know was playing. I told my companion ‘this song is Australian’, but he didn’t seem interested. So everyone in the world’s heard it? Here too. On the radio, in bars, on people’s iPods. When it was first released I imagine the pop station I listen to would have announced part-way in ‘Escutchas Gotye, Somebody that I used to know’ in a smooth, authoritative disc jockey way, where the meanings of the English words don’t seem to totally hold meaning. At 3 am one night I heard Land down under in a taxi.

Some people have heard about our prime minister who is a ‘tough lady’ and ‘like a Margaret Thatcher’.

I went to a bar with my friend and her work colleagues, on the top floor of a new business complex, in the middle of nowhere on the coldest night of the year, with the city lights spread around. The Australian Open was showing on all the television screens, and it looked really hot.

Eucalyptus trees are everywhere here in unlandscaped or informal places, especially by the side of roads. Noone seems to know or care that they are from Australia, but they are like familiar faces to me. I’ve also seen casuarinas, and a lilypilly by the gate at the park, which smelt the same as my chilhood.

After school I sit in the cathedral downtown for meditation. Today they were cleaning and there were no flowers. A boy was sweeping and polishing the woodern lecturn. Someone was practicing the organ, which sounded like a gaudy funeral parade. Beneath the soaring sound was the mechanical breath and fall of the instrument.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Somebody that I used to know in Mexico

  1. enroo says:

    I noticed Eucalyptus too, when I was travelling in Peru. Everywhere, near Cusco at least. I think they are a weed maybe in a lot of the Americas. They grow easily and quickly and they steal the water from other native plants. When I was in California, there was Eucalyptus everywhere, but they didn’t have the same smell. Apparently there was somehting different about the soil conditions. They didnt smell as strong or as pungent, or taste the same when you bite them. HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY!

  2. eateattravel says:

    They must be a weed here too, I suppose the climate is similar but they have a competitive release. That’s interesting about the smell! I’ve got some sniffing to do. Happy Australia Day!

Leave a Reply

